I gave you a paper copy of the Denis Johnson very short story “Steady Hands at Seattle General,” in class today. I have three hard copies left; if you are on campus today (thursday) before 5, or if you come by early Friday morning, you can pick up one of the copies from my mailbox in the english dept, LA133. Have the nice secretary help you find my mailbox if for some reason your eyeballs can’t find my mailbox. It’s really short and you will be a better person for having read it.

Friday we’re watching clips from films all day that showcase dialogue, because dialogue rules.

Here’s some elective reading I’ve been meaning to pass your way. They are all written by my esteemed peers.

Doesn’t Rock, by Ted McDermott
Turns out “doesn’t rock” is a double entendre but not a sexual one. Do entendres have to be sexual? I just checked, and wikipedia says no. Look at how much work this story does in so few words.

Our Own Flesh and Blood, by Becky Margolis
I hope you like palindromes!

Green Room, by Kristen Gleason
Kristen is a word wizard. Don’t look for traditional narrative/storytelling in this piece. Approach it like a poem. Kristen might really hate me for saying that, but I think it’s good advice. The story’s meaning lands in your stomach subconsciously rather than unfolding through action.

Let me know what you think of anything you read here. They are all very short and wonderful in their own way. You needn’t compare and contrast them, although you can.

There will be a reading assignment for the weekend, but what? I don’t know! Stay tuned.

