Hello class. A thousand apologies – I meant to get this up friday afternoon. I was working on a story all day yesterday and it’s making me a little funny in the head.  Anyway, on with the show!

For the weekend, please read the stories I gave you: they are Tattooizm, by Kevin Moffett, and Dogs, by Kevin Canty.  Once upon a time there were two Kevins… if you weren’t in class today, oh   no. I would recommend trying to find hard copies in the library. They are not available on the Internet.  Here’s a review I found on the Moffett story, completely optional.

I want you to give these close readings and come prepared to discuss them on Monday.  Please also consider this  question and leave a short response here with your thoughts by Monday before class.

Question: Think about the nature of the “Olive” tattoo in the story. How does it change throughout, and what is its function? This is literature, remember, so a cigar is never just a cigar, a tattoo is never just a tattoo.  There is no right or wrong answer here, just give me your general impressions.

And here is information on the reading on Sunday that I told you about, copied and pasted from an email.

Please join us this SUNDAY, January 30, for an evening of prose and poetry with Alice Bolin and Kevin Canty!

What: Second Wind is a reading series that pairs second-year students in the University of Montana’s Creative Writing MFA program with established community or faculty writers.
Who: Alice Bolin, poet, and Kevin Canty, fiction writer
When: Sunday, January 30, 6:30 PM
Where: The Top Hat, 134 W. Front Street, Missoula

Check out our BLOG for schedule and updates!  http://secondwindreadingseries.tumblr.com/

If you choose to go, just bring me a short little write up with your impressions of what you saw, or you can email me. You don’t need to type these.

I am very much looking forward to reading your first writing assignments.  I have an extremely busy weekend ahead of me so I might be able to get them back until Wednesday, but trust, they will be consumed.  Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

 

